On Kwanzaa

Wish I could afford a #Kwanzaa #kinara

As Far Away As Possible

(Image Credit: Rochester City Newspaper)

Now that I’ve finished my exams and my Winter Break has officially begun, I can begin to actually celebrate the holidays!

There’s one holiday in particular that I’ve heard mentioned countless times during this season but that I really have no knowledge about: Kwanzaa. And I’m genuinely interested in, well, what it is, so I thought I’d take the opportunity to educate both myself and you about this holiday.

Kwanzaa is a pan-African holiday, and there’s a good chance you knew that. So, being an African tradition, it must be thousands of years old, established after some great miracle occurred- kind of like Hannukah or Christmas, right?

Well, no. Kwanzaa was created in America. In the 1960s. But don’t let it loose any credibility because of that.

I guess you could say that Kwanzaa’s roots are old- the name comes from the phrase “matunda ya…

View original post 410 more words

Leave a Reply

